Jim Gibson Professional Introduction

 

It seems like I may be on to something interesting here.  I am beginning to recognize that creating a video resume (like the one on my site) is a great way to really stand out in a crowded job market.  I am already starting to get calls from professional headhunters who, despite not knowing exactly how to use this new tool, all agree that this is the beginning of an effective application of technology for HR professionals, career advisors and even company executives looking for that special employee.

In order to differentiate yourself to prospective employers, it's critical to think creatively and to step outside the box.  Granted, not everyone is comfortable in front of a camera, but just a glimpse of your smiling face may mean the difference between your resume being shuffled off to the circular file and getting a call for that all important interview.

Note that I said "getting a call for the interview".  Don't expect to land that great job on the basis of a video resume.  Set your expectations now.  This is only a tool to get you more effective visiblity - it won't necessarily land you the job.  You still have to interview like everyone else and that's where you'll really show your stuff!

I highly recommend finding a good videographer to help you with your video resume.  It doesn't have to be expensive (about $200) but try to find a company that will offer you a nominally priced subscription plan - where you can shoot a variety of videos over a period of time. 

The average job search is 6 months.  So plan to shoot a bunch of different videos.. for specific jobs, specific companies, specific titles, specific roles, etc.  If you are in Los Angeles, like myself, check out
http://www.silverdoveproductions.com.  A great company with a real familial approach to video production - not your typical Hollywood outfit.  Make sure to tell them that Jim Gibson sent ya - you'll get a great discount, I promise!

If you would like to have me send you a checklist for a video resume, go to my Contact Jim page and fill out the form.  I'll shoot you over a great article on how to prepare for your 2 minutes of fame.

Until then, happy job hunting!  I look forward to hearing from you.

Jim Gibson 




Leave a Reply.